Defining Latin America

Read this tip to make your life smarter, better, faster and wiser. LifeTips is the place to go when you need to know about Spanish Culture and other Spanish topics.

What is Latin America?

Defining Latin America

Definitions of Latin America vary considerably. While most people think of it as the area south of the USA where the Spanish language is spoken, there is so much more to explore. Latin America refers to the locations in Mexico, Central and South America that speak Spanish, Portuguese, French or another language derived from Latin. Another view of Latin America refers to the countries in that region that have a Spanish culture. Using this definition, Latin America comprises Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Nicaragua, Mexico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Puerto Rico, Uruguay and Venezuela. The countries and dependencies that are sometimes included in Latin America (where the Spanish language is not the main one) are: French Guiana, Guadeloupe, and Martinique.



Nobody has commented on this tip yet. Be the first.


URL: (optional)


Not finding the advice and tips you need on this Spanish Tip Site? Request a Tip Now!

Guru Spotlight
Joe Wallace